The Robbins' Roost

A nesting place for the Robbins' family updates

South Carolina

on February 13, 2012

Wow, it has been almost a month since I have written anything on this little blog.  There has been a lot happening in our lives since that last post and all that is happening has kept me from having the time to sit down and write.  Now, I think things are finally slowing just enough I can write a little bit about what has been happening.

Right after I posted that last time in January, Paul, Palmer and I took a trip to Sumter, South Carolina.  We went for a business meeting Paul had for work.  Really it was a final interview for a promotion.  A few days after returning from Sumter, Paul found out he was offered the job.  Basically that is when all craziness broke loose in this household and it didn’t feel like there were enough hours in a day.

Right after we found out about Paul’s new job, which meant the whole family would be moving to South Carolina, we started working on getting the house ready to be put on the market.  Painters came in and refreshed the whole main floor with new paint.  Yes, it is basic tan that goes with anything.  They painted in 1 1/2 days what it would have taken me 2 weeks to get done.  It was so worth the money we paid and my sanity to have someone else do the painting.  Next came the new carpet in the living room.  It is carpet that has needed to be replaced over the last couple years, but we just didn’t take the time to get it done.  Now it looks wonderful and we will enjoy it for the short time we are still here.

After all the painting and carpet being laid, then came the deep cleaning.  I spent an entire weekend just cleaning, cleaning, and more cleaning.  My nails didn’t look very pretty when it was all over, but the house was clean.  After the cleaning, the realtor came and took pictures of all the rooms.  Then the 2nd floor carpets were cleaned so when people start looking at the house it will be beautiful.  Then the realtor’s sign went up in the yard and the reality set in that this is really happening.

There was still more organizing or closets, a deep cleaning of the basement, and cleaning out the fridge.  I have made 6 trips to Goodwill in a week.  We also have a consignment store called “Stuff” that I have been to and dropped of stuff about 5 different times.  The car just about automatically goes to Stuff and then Goodwill without me even having to steer it.  So now the house is officially on the market, an open house has been scheduled, Paul starts his new job in a week and Palmer and I will be here trying to sell the house!

We are still trying to live a “normal” life while all of this is happening.  Sometimes it feels like nothing is going on, but other times I start to feel a bit overwhelmed.  I’ve started my list of people/places/things to contact when we know the house is sold.  Next will be getting estimates on the cost of movers to move our things.  So much to do and so many things to think about.

Please understand if this little blog doesn’t get updated as much as I would like.  I will try to keep things updated so all of you will know what is happening.  So, until next time…

Jodi

Leave a Reply

